Beethoven at 250

Beethoven Festival Icon

Celebrate Beethoven's 250th Birthday

Discover the power of Beethoven this season as we present his most iconic masterpieces.

Kirill Gerstein

Fri Nov 1, 8PM | Sat Nov 2, 8PM

Payare Conducts Beethoven & Tchaikovsky

Rafael Payare, conductor
Kirill Gerstein, piano

SCHUMANN: Overture to Manfred
BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 4
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 6: Pathétique

Buy Now
Dorothea Röschmann

Fri Nov 8, 8PM | Sun Nov 10, 2PM

Beethoven's Eroica

Rafael Payare, conductor
Dorothea Röschmann, soprano

MOZART: Symphony No. 35: Haffner
MAHLER: Rückert Lieder
BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 3: Eroica

Buy Now
Conrad Prebys Performing Arts Center

Tue Dec 10, 7:30PM

Piano Trios of Beethoven & Arensky

Fabio Bidini, piano
Musicians from the San Diego Symphony

BEETHOVEN: Variations on “Là ci darem la mano” for Two Oboes and English Horn
BEETHOVEN: Trio for Clarinet, Cello and Piano in B-flat Major
ARENSKY: Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor

Buy Now
Emanuel Ax

Fri Jan 10, 8PM | Sat Jan 11, 8PM
Sun Jan 12, 2PM

Emanuel Ax: Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 1

Edo de Waart, conductor
Emanuel Ax, piano

BEETHOVEN: Leonore Overture No. 3
BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 1
BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 4

Buy Now
Shai Wosner playing piano

Tue Jan 14, 7:30PM

Beethoven: Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man

Shai Wosner, piano
Musicians from the San Diego Symphony

BEETHOVEN: Piano Trio in C Minor
BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonata in D Major, Pastoral
BEETHOVEN: Septet in E-flat Major

Buy Now
Leila Josefowicz

Fri Jan 17, 8PM | Sat Jan 18, 8PM

Beethoven's
Symphony No. 5

Edo de Waart, conductor
Leila Josefowicz, violin

BEETHOVEN: Grosse Fuge
JOHN ADAMS: Violin Concerto
BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 5

Buy Now
Edo de Waart

Sun Jan 19, 2PM

Beyond the Score®: Beethoven's 5th Symphony

Edo de Waart, conductor

BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 5

Beyond the Score® is a production of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra Gerard McBurney, Creative Director for Beyond the Score®
Buy Now
Edo de Waart

Fri Jan 24, 8PM | Sat Jan 25, 8PM

Beethoven's Pastoral

Edo de Waart, conductor

BEETHOVEN: Overture to Egmont
HAYDN: Symphony No. 92: Oxford
BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 6: Pastoral

Buy Now
Beethoven the Music Genius

Sun Feb 9, 2PM

Beethoven the Music Genius

Ludwig van Beethoven changed classical music forever — making it bigger, and bolder, and more outrageous than ever — all while losing his hearing! We’ll share strange and wonderful facts about the life of this gifted and temperamental genius as you enjoy pieces of his most famous music played by the orchestra.

Buy Now
Coldplay vs. Beethoven logo

SAT FEB 15, 8PM

Steve Hackman's Beethoven vs. Coldplay

Steve Hackman’s Beethoven vs. Coldplay transforms Ludwig van Beethoven’s Eroica Symphony into an oratorio, weaving the melodies and lyrics of Coldplay into the original Beethoven and pairing them together based on content and context. Three vocalists join the full symphony; many of Coldplay’s most well-known songs are interpolated, including "Fix You," "Paradise" and "The Scientist."

Steve Hackman’s Beethoven vs. Coldplay is a Stereo Hideout production, created and arranged by Steve Hackman.

Buy Now
Stefan Jackiw

Fri Feb 21, 8PM | Sun Feb 23, 2PM

Payare Conducts Beethoven & Shostakovich

Rafael Payare, conductor
Stefan Jackiw, violin

BEETHOVEN: Violin Concerto
SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 11: The Year 1905

Buy Now
Rafael Payare

Fri May 22, 8PM | Sat May 23, 8PM
Sun May 24, 2PM

Beethoven's Symphony No. 9

Rafael Payare, conductor
Felicia Moore, soprano
Kelley O'Connor, mezzo-soprano
Paul Appleby, tenor
Soloman Howard, bass
San Diego Master Chorale

BRETT DEAN: Testament
BEETHOVEN: "Prisoner's Chorus" from Fidelio
BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 9

Buy Now