Partner with a Player

The San Diego Symphony Orchestra gratefully acknowledges the generous support of the following donors for their membership in the Partner with a Player program and their profound impact on the orchestra. Partner with a Player members enjoy the unique opportunity to personally connect with the orchestra and engage with the Symphony in meaningful ways.
The San Diego Symphony Partner with a Player page is updated quarterly. The following listing reflects pledges entered as of September 30, 2020.

San Diego Foundation    Rancho Santa Fe Foundation     Jewish Community Foundation    Deceased ⟡

$100,000 AND ABOVE

Kathy Taylor and Terry Atkinson
Igor Pandurski, Violin

Una Davis
Rafael Rayare, Music Director

Phyllis and Daniel Epstein
Sheryl Renk, Principal Clarinet

Sam B. Ersan
Valentin Martchev, Principal Bassoon
Julie Phillips, Principal Harp

Audrey Geisel, Dr. Seuss Foundation
Jahja Ling, Conductor Laureate

Joan and Irwin Jacobs
Martha Gilmer, Chief Executive Officer

Dorothea Laub
Nancy Lochner, Associate Principal Viola

Dr. Bob and June Shillman and
   Maxwell Louis Shillman
Greg Cohen, Principal Percussion

$50,000 – $99,999

Hernan Constantino, Violin

San Diego Symphony Musicians

Rita and Richard Atkinson
Ryan DiLisi, Principal Timpani

Rafaela and John Belanich
Chris Smith, Principal Trumpet

Una Davis and Jack McGrory
Susan Wulff, Associate Principal Bass

Silvija and Brian Devine
San Diego Symphony Musicians

Shirley Estes
Matthew Garbutt, Principal Tuba

Esther and Bud Fischer 
Ethan Pernela, Viola

Carol and Richard Hertzberg
Nick Grant, Principal Associate
Concertmaster Emeritus

Karen and Warren Kessler 
Chi-Yuan Chen, Principal Viola

Dr. William and Evelyn Lamden
Andrea Overturf, Oboe

Carol Lazier and James Merritt
Sarah Skuster, Principal Oboe
Sarah Tuck, Flute

Linda and Shearn Platt
Benjamin Jaber, Principal Horn

Allison and Robert Price 
San Diego Symphony Musicians

Penny and Louis Rosso
Andrew Watkins,
Assistant Principal Timpani

Colette Carson Royston and Ivor Royston
Yeh Shen, Violin

Karen and Kit Sickels
Jeremy Kurtz-Harris, Principal Bass

Karen and Jeff Silberman
Jisun Yang, Assistant Concertmaster

Gayle and Donald Slate
Angela Homnick, Violin

Dave and Phyllis Snyder
Julia Pautz, Violin

Gloria and Rodney Stone
Paul ("P.J.") Cinque, Bass

Haeyoung Tang
San Diego Symphony Musicians

Sylvia and Roger Thieme
San Diego Symphony Musicians

Jayne and Bill Turpin
San Diego Symphony Musicians

Mitchell Woodbury
Douglas Hall, Horn

$25,000 – $49,999

Pam and Jerry Cesak
Samuel Hager, Bass

Nikki A. and Ben G. Clay
Mary Szanto, Cello

Karen and Donald Cohn
Hanah Stuart,
Acting Associate Principal Second Violin

Karin and Gary Eastham
San Diego Symphony Musicians,
   Viola Chair

Anne L. Evans
Wesley Precourt,
Associate Concertmaster

Lisette and Mick Farrell/
Farrell Family Foundation
Navroj ("Nuvi") Mehta,
Concert Commentator

Pam and Hal Fuson
Courtney Cohen, Principal Librarian

Elaine Galinson & Herbert Solomon 
Yumi Cho, Violin

Sandra and Arthur Levinson
Kyle Covington, Principal Trombone

Monica and Robert Oder
Erin Dowrey, Percussion

Elizabeth and Dene Oliver
Xian Zhuo, Cello

Deborah Pate and John Forrest
Jeff Thayer, Concertmaster

The Potiker Family in memory of
Sheila and Hughes Potiker
Abraham Martin, Viola

Raghu and Shamala Saripalli
Chia-Ling Chien,
Associate Principal Cello

Susan Sharin and Laurina Young
Rose Lombardo, Principal Flute

Joyce and Ted Strauss
Yao Zhao, Principal Cello

Sue and Bill Weber
Jing Yan Bowcott, Violin

Kathryn and James Whistler 
Rachel Fields, Librarian

Sheryl and Harvey White
Alexander Palamidis,
   Principal Second Violin

$15,000 – $24,999

Nathan Walhout, Cello

Kyle Mendiguchia, Bass Trombone

Warren and Eloise Batts
Alicia Engley, Violin

Jim and Jill Berg
Wanda Law, Viola

Dr. Anthony Boganey
Logan Chopyk, Trombone

Gordon Brodfuehrer
Kenneth Liao, Violin

Julia R. Brown
Leyla Zamora, Bassoon

Kathleen Seely Davis
Qing Liang, Viola

Kimberly and Jeffrey Goldman
John Stubbs, Violin

Jill Gormley and Laurie Lipman
Frank Renk, Bass Clarinet

Judith Harris and Dr. Robert Singer
Michael Marks, Bass

Marilyn James and Richard Phetteplace
Tricia Skye, Horn

Jo Ann Kilty
Marcia Bookstein, Cello

Rena Minis and Rich Paul,
Paul Plevin Sullivan & Connaughton, LLP
Ryan Simmons, Bassoon

Riley Mixson
Theresa Tunnicliff, Clarinet

Val and Ron Ontell
Darby Hinshaw, Assistant Principal & Utility Horn

Jane and Jon Pollock
Amy Taylor, Flute

Seltzer Caplan McMahon Vitek
Pei-Chun Tsai, Violin

Jayne and Brigg Sherman
San Diego Symphony, Oboe Chair

Stephen M. Silverman
Ai Nihira, Violin

Jeanette Stevens
Kathryn Hatmaker, Violin

Iris and Matthew Strauss
Zou Yu, Violin

Dr. Miriam and Gene Summ
Richard Levine, Cello

Linda and Raymond Thomas -
R.V. Thomas Family Fund 
Ray Nowak, Trumpet

Isabelle and Mel Wasserman
Andrew Hayhurst, Cello

Judy Gaze-Zygowicz and John Zygowicz
Rebecca Matayoshi, Violin

For more information, or to join, please contact Director of Advancement, Planned Giving and Major Gifts Tania Batson at 619.615.3908 or