Bach’s Concerto for Violin and Oboe

Artists and Repertoire

Edo de Waart, conductor
Jeff Thayer, violin
Sarah Skuster, oboe

J.S. BACH: Concerto for Violin and Oboe in C minor, BWV 1060
BRAHMS: Variations on a Theme of Joseph Haydn
R. STRAUSS: Serenade in E-flat Major, Op. 7
ELGAR: Enigma Variations


Principal Guest Conductor Edo de Waart leads this program filled with sounds that perfectly complement the beauty of December. Bach’s Concerto for Violin and Oboe, adapted from a piece originally written for two harpsichords lost to the ages, was beautifully recreated to match Bach’s voice and intention. Its energetic melodies and harmonious duets have delighted audiences for centuries.

  • Jacobs Masterworks

Choose a date below to see details.

Time 8 p.m.
Venue Jacobs Music Center
Ticket Price --

On Sale 8/15

Time 2 p.m.
Venue Jacobs Music Center
Ticket Price --

On Sale 8/15

Jacobs Music Center


For pre- and post-concert dining, drinks and desserts, there are many options near our Downtown San Diego home.


The 701B parking facility (701 B Street, 92101, just one block south of the Jacobs Music Center) will be available for parking on concert nights. Prepaid parking is also available in this facility. (See Parking Page at the link below for pricing details.)

Valet parking, provided by ABM Parking, is available for all Friday and Saturday evening Jacobs Masterworks concerts.