Brahms and Mendelssohn

Artists and Repertoire

Rafael Payare, conductor
Daniel Lozakovich, violin

BRAHMS: Tragic Overture, Op. 81
MENDELSSOHN: Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64
BRAHMS: Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 73


Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto is a beloved showcase for soloistic lyricism and virtuosity, and will be the vehicle for Daniel Lozakovich in his San Diego Symphony debut. Rafael Payare leads soloist Lozakovich and the Symphony in this dynamic program that opens with Brahms’ intense Tragic Overture and closes with the warmth and grandeur of his Symphony No. 2, the second in our cycle of Brahms’ symphonies.

  • Jacobs Masterworks

Choose a date below to see details.

Time 8 p.m.
Venue Jacobs Music Center
Ticket Price --

On Sale Soon

Time 2 p.m.
Venue Jacobs Music Center
Ticket Price --

On Sale Soon

Jacobs Music Center


For pre- and post-concert dining, drinks and desserts, there are many options near our Downtown San Diego home.


The 701B parking facility (701 B Street, 92101, just one block south of the Jacobs Music Center) will be available for parking on concert nights. Prepaid parking is also available in this facility. (See Parking Page at the link below for pricing details.)

Valet parking, provided by ABM Parking, is available for all Friday and Saturday evening Jacobs Masterworks concerts.