San Diego Symphony at Lehigh University (Bethlehem, PA)

Artists and Repertoire

Rafael Payare, conductor
Alisa Weilerstein, cello

CARLOS SIMON: Wake Up: A Concerto for Orchestra (Pennsylvania Premiere, Lead commission by San Diego Symphony)
ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK: Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104
DMITRI SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 5 in D minor, Op. 47


The San Diego Symphony and Rafael Payare, conductor, make their Pennsylvania debut on Thursday, October 12, 2023. The program features a preview performance of repertoire the San Diego Symphony will perform on the Carnegie Hall stage the following evening, including the East Coast Premiere of a San Diego Symphony commission by composer Carlos Simon, Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5 — part of the Orchestra’s ongoing exploration of the composer’s symphonies — and Dvořák’s celebrated Cello Concerto with soloist Alisa Weilerstein.


Baker Hall of the Zoellner Arts Center at Lehigh University

  • SDSO Coast to Coast

Choose a date below to see details.

Time 7:30 p.m.
Venue Zoellner Arts Center of Lehigh University
Ticket Price --

Purchase From Lehigh U.

San Diego Symphony, Touring Coast to Coast!

Zoellner Arts Center of Lehigh University