San Diego Symphony at Soka University (Orange County)


Soka Performing Arts Center at Soka University of America

Artists and Repertoire

Rafael Payare, conductor
Alisa Weilerstein, cello

CARLOS SIMON: Wake Up: A Concerto for Orchestra (World Premiere, Lead commission by San Diego Symphony)
ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK: Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104
DMITRI SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 5 in D minor, Op. 47


The San Diego Symphony and Rafael Payare, conductor, return to Soka University on Friday, October 6, 2023. The program features a preview performance of repertoire the San Diego Symphony will perform on the Carnegie Hall stage the following week in New York, including the World Premiere of a San Diego Symphony commission by composer Carlos Simon, Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5 — part of the Orchestra’s ongoing exploration of the composer’s symphonies — and Dvořák’s celebrated Cello Concerto with soloist Alisa Weilerstein.

  • SDSO Coast to Coast

Choose a date below to see details.

Time 8 p.m.
Venue Soka Performing Arts Center
Ticket Price --

Purchase From Soka U.

San Diego Symphony, Touring Coast to Coast!

Soka Performing Arts Center