San Diego Symphony in Costa Mesa

Artists and Repertoire

Rafael Payare, conductor
Pacho Flores, trumpet

Andrew NORMAN: Drip Blip Sparkle Spin Glint Glide Glow Float Flop Chop Pop Shatter Splash
Johann Baptist Georg NERUDA: Trumpet Concerto in E)-flat Major
Paquito D'RIVERA: Concerto venezolano for Trumpet and Orchestra
   (San Diego Symphony co-commission*; U.S. premiere)
Piotr Ilyich TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 4 in F minor, Op. 36


From the terror of its opening brass fanfare through to the wild delirium of its ending, Piotr Tchaikovsky's Fourth Symphony takes us on a journey of unstoppable drama, filled with aching melodies, thundering climaxes and the psychological torments of a hero struggling with implacable fate. Trumpeter Pacho Flores stars in the U.S. premiere of a new concerto by Paquito D'Rivera, a jazzy tribute to the Venezuelan people by the Cuban-born composer. And the concert opens with an enchanting orchestral firework by the young California-based composer Andrew Norman.

*This commission was funded in part by a generous grant from...

  • SDSO On The Road

Choose a date below to see details.

Time 8 p.m.
Venue Segerstrom Concert Hall (Costa Mesa)
Ticket Price --

Buy Tickets at SCFTA

Segerstrom Concert Hall (Costa Mesa)