Season Calendar


Single tickets: $25
UCSD Faculty/Staff: $20
Full time Students with valid ID: $0, one ticket per student but must arrive by 7pm!
Student Guests: $10 each

Subscriptions and single tickets available through San Diego Symphony Ticket Office: 619.235.0804

All concerts begin at 7:30pm,
Conrad Prebys Concert Hall, UC San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive, La Jolla 92093 


Entering campus at the Gilman Entrance, follow Gilman Drive around and make a left turn into Russell Lane. Once you have turned, you will have the Gilman Parking Structure on your right and the Conrad Prebys Music Center will be on your left.

There are paid visitor parking spots (marked with a V) in the Gilman Parking Structure on the Ground Level and on the Below Ground level. (Be sure to pay for your parking at the nearest meter.)

Walk out of the Gilman Parking Structure, cross Russell Lane and go to the right, walking to the end of the building. Turn left, and the lobby to the Conrad Prebys Concert Hall will be on your left-hand side.


CLICK HERE for a recent feature in U-T San Diego about Camera Lucida Artistic Director Charles Curtis!
Camera Lucida, a collaboration between UC San Diego and the San Diego Symphony, presents chamber music masterpieces of the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries in the acoustically perfect Conrad Prebys Concert Hall at UCSD. Principal musicians from the San Diego Symphony and distinguished performance faculty from UCSD join with guests from the international chamber music world in performances that blend the precision and cohesiveness of a permanent ensemble with widely ranging instrumentation.

Camera Lucida, the lighted room, the illuminated chamber, stands as figure for the radiance cast by great works of chamber music in live performance. Our concerts create an atmosphere that is inviting and enveloping, our performances are intense and personal, and the works we perform are unforgettable, inspiring expressions of human creativity.

Core members of Camera Lucida include SDSO Concertmaster Jeff Thayer, violist Che-Yen Chen and UCSD Professor of Cello Charles Curtis (Artistic Director). Subscriptions (at a considerable savings from the already-reasonable single-concert price) are a wonderful way to take advantage of the best discounts and seating. Camera Lucida is made possible through the extraordinary generosity of Sam Ersan.

All Camera Lucida concerts begin at 7:30pm and are performed at UCSD's Conrad Prebys Concert Hall. Programs are subject to change!

To subscribe NOW, call the San Diego Symphony Ticket Office at 619.235.0804.

Tune in to KPBS-FM 89.5FM for broadcasts of each Camera Lucida concert at 9pm the second Saturday after each concert.

Note: Students with ID may attend for FREE, but must be in line 30 minutes before the concert to qualify. Availability of these tickets is limited, on a first-come, first-served basis without guarantees.

Dear Friends of Camera Lucida!

We welcome you to our sixth full season of Camera Lucida concerts. Our season opens on October 14 with the ceremonial strains of Beethoven's String Trio Opus 9 No. 1, inaugurating a seven-concert journey through rare wonders and familiar masterpieces. Saint-Saëns, Karel Szymanowski, Rebecca Clarke, Sibelius and Kodály appear for the first time in our chamber music series; and we return to Brahms, Mozart, Bach, Mendelssohn and Dvořák as beloved and inspiring old friends.

Among numerous high points I would especially point to the continuation of our survey of the late string quartets of Beethoven, with his Opus 130 and its intended finale, the Grosse Fuge; piano quartets of Brahms (concluding our survey of those works), Dvořák, Mendelssohn, Saint-Saëns and Fauré; Bach's miraculous string consort essay, the Sixth Brandenburg Concerto; and the epic F-minor Piano Trio of Dvořák.

Again we return to the Conrad Prebys Concert Hall at UCSD, a chamber of acoustical marvels that graces the idea of chamber music with its optimal physical complement, a listening space perfectly matched to the intimacy and radiance of the music. As every year, we are grateful to Sam Ersan for the extraordinary generosity that makes our concerts possible.

We look forward to sharing the inspiration of chamber music with you throughout the 2013-14 Camera Lucida season!

Charles Curtis
Artistic Director

Monday, June 2, 7:30pm
KODÁLY: Serenade for Two Violins and Viola
DVOŘÁK: Trio in F minor
SIBELIUS: String Quartet: Voces Intimae

Tuesday, June 10, 7:30pm

The Myriad Trio
Program TBA
(Note: this date differs from some previously published materials.)