Elegant to Epic: Saint-Saëns and Shostakovich

Artists and Repertoire

Rafael Payare, conductor
Jean-Yves Thibaudet, piano

SAINT-SAËNS: Piano Concerto No. 5 in F Major, Op. 103, Egyptian
SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 7 in C Major, Op. 60, Leningrad


Considered one of the finest pianists of today, Jean-Yves Thibaudet takes the Jacobs Music Center stage to perform his acclaimed interpretation of Camille Saint-Saëns' final piano concerto, written while he was vacationing in Cairo, Egypt. Then Rafael Payare and the Symphony tackle Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 7, Leningrad. The first performance of the Leningrad took place in August 1942, a year into the 30-month blockade of the city by Axis powers, and was broadcast throughout the city as a show of defiance against German forces. Since then, the symphony has become a powerful international symbol of human resistance to brutality, barbarism and injustice.

  • Jacobs Masterworks

Choose a date below to see details.

Time 7:30 p.m.
Venue Jacobs Music Center
Ticket Price --

Part of JMW Friday A Series

Part of JMW Friday C Series

Time 7:30 p.m.
Venue Jacobs Music Center
Ticket Price --

Part of JMW Saturday A Series

Part of JMW Saturday B Series

Jacobs Music Center


For pre- and post-concert dining, drinks and desserts, there are many options near our Downtown San Diego home.


The 701B parking facility (701 B Street, 92101, just one block south of the Jacobs Music Center) will be available for parking on concert nights. Prepaid parking is also available in this facility. (See Parking Page at the link below for pricing details.)

Valet parking, provided by ABM Parking, is available for all Friday and Saturday evening Jacobs Masterworks concerts.