Biss Plays Beethoven

Artists and Repertoire

Bernard Labadie, conductor
Jonathan Biss, piano

MOZART: Overture to Die Zauberflöte (The Magic Flute), K. 620
BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major, Op. 15
MOZART: Overture to La clemenza di Tito, K. 621
HAYDN: Symphony No. 103 in E-flat Major, Paukenwirbel (Drum Roll)


Bernard Labadie marks his first performances with the San Diego Symphony Orchestra in this program of life-affirming energy, grandeur and strength with works by three giants of Western classical music, all written in the influential last decade of the 18th century. A pair of glorious and masterful operatic overtures open each half of the program, both written by Mozart within weeks of one another in the fall of 1791, and just a couple of months before his untimely death. Beethoven’s first piano concerto is performed by Jonathan Biss (“one of today's foremost Beethoven exponents” – Chicago Tribune), and the program closes with Haydn’s Symphony No. 103 – his second to last – nicknamed the “Drum Roll” for its powerful and mysterious opening.

  • Jacobs Masterworks

Choose a date below to see details.

Time 7:30 p.m.
Venue Jacobs Music Center
Ticket Price --

Part of JMW Saturday A Series

Part of JMW Saturday C Series

Time 2 p.m.
Venue Jacobs Music Center
Ticket Price --

Part of JMW Sunday A Series

Part of JMW Sunday C Series

Jacobs Music Center


For pre- and post-concert dining, drinks and desserts, there are many options near our Downtown San Diego home.


The 701B parking facility (701 B Street, 92101, just one block south of the Jacobs Music Center) will be available for parking on concert nights. Prepaid parking is also available in this facility. (See Parking Page at the link below for pricing details.)

Valet parking, provided by ABM Parking, is available for all Friday and Saturday evening Jacobs Masterworks concerts.