Find Your Music™ On The Go

A Return to Music

Friday, October 23, 2020

The San Diego Symphony returns to music by presenting its first orchestral performance in nearly seven months with this special program. Music Director Rafael Payare conducts musicians of the San Diego Symphony in Beethoven’s "Triple Concerto," featuring solos by renowned cellist Alisa Weilerstein, pianist and music director for La Jolla Music Society SummerFest Inon Barnatan, and San Diego Symphony Concertmaster Jeff Thayer.

A Return To Music features three pieces in addition to Beethoven’s "Triple Concerto," including "Banner" – a tribute to and a rhapsody on "The Star-Spangled Banner" – by Black female composer Jessie Montgomery. Montgomery was born and raised in Manhattan's Lower East Side, at the time when artists gravitated to the hotbed of artistic experimentation and community development. She draws from her experiences and participation in rallies, performances, celebrations and community movements to create powerful, "wildly colorful" compositions, placing her squarely as one of the most relevant interpreters of 21st century American sound and experience. Also featured on the program are Mozart's Divertimento in D major and George Walker's "Lyric for Strings." Walker was the first Black composer to win the Pulitzer Prize for Music.

Rafael Payare, conductor
Jeff Thayer, violin
Alisa Weilerstein, cello
Inon Barnatan, piano
MOZART: Divertimento in D major, K.136
GEORGE WALKER: "Lyric for Strings"
BEETHOVEN: "Triple Concerto" for Violin, Cello and Piano (arr. Detlev Glanert for chamber orchestra)

Free for the community and performed at The Conrad Prebys Performing Arts Center, this event will be streamed on our website, Facebook and YouTube channels.

Donate now to the Symphony’s Stabilization Fund and your new or increased gift will be matched dollar for dollar. Help keep the music playing for everyone! Click here to donate:

Lunch & Listen: Principal Cellist Yao Zhao

Tuesday, October 20, 2020

KPBS Broadcast October 18

Sunday, October 18, 2020

October 18, 2020

Jahja Ling, conductor

BERLIOZ: Overture to Benvenuto Cellini, Op. 23

SAINT-SAËNS: Symphony No. 3 in C minor, Op. 78: Organ Symphony

From concerts performed May 3, 4 & 5, 2019

Saint-Saëns' Organ Symphony 2019 Rehearsal

Friday, October 16, 2020

Jahja Ling, conductor⁣⁣
@chelsealeachen, organ⁣⁣
BERLIOZ: Overture to "Benvenuto Cellini," Op. 23⁣⁣
POULENC: Concerto in G minor for Organ, Timpani and Strings⁣⁣
SAINT-SAËNS: Symphony No. 3 in C minor, Op. 78: "Organ Symphony

Lunch & Listen w/ Jeremy Kurtz-Harris

Tuesday, October 13, 2020

Lunch & Listen with San Diego Symphony Principal Bass Jeremy Kurtz-Harris!

KPBS Broadcast October 11 (Part A)

Sunday, October 11, 2020

Rafael Payare, conductor

Alisa Weilerstein, cello

SCHUMANN: Overture to Manfred, Op. 115

TCHAIKOVSKY: Variations on a Rococo Theme, Op. 33

From concerts performed January 10, 2019 and November 1 & 2, 2019

KPBS Broadcast October 11 (Part B)

Sunday, October 11, 2020

Rafael Payare, conductor

TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74: Pathétique

From concerts performed January 10, 2019 and November 1 & 2, 2019

Lunch & Listen w/ Andrew Hayhurst

Tuesday, October 6, 2020

Lunch & Listen with San Diego Symphony cellist Andrew Hayhurst!

KPBS Broadcast October 4 (Part A)

Sunday, October 4, 2020

Robert Spano, conductor
BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 2
From concerts performed March 9 & 10, 2019
*Copyright 2015 by Christopher Theofanidis (ASCAP). All Rights Reserved.
Sole Agent: Bill Holab Music